Vol 4 No. 31 BCY Annual Assembly

We celebrated the annual gathering of the British Columbia Convention of Baptist Churches in Nelson, BC on 4-6 July 2008 at First Baptist Church Nelson. Many thanks to the wonderful and numerous folk at First Baptist Nelson for their kind hospitality. Dawn Johannesson, our BCY Regional Administrator, led us in community building and organization as she planned the event. Out regional moderator Glenn Rabuka of First Baptist Penticton concluded a year of challenging, sometimes courageous and God dependant faithful service. Connie Cristall from First Baptist Kelowna is our new moderator and I look forward to working with Connie.

Paul Pearce was thanked and prayed for by the assembled delegates, as was Dan Watt in a BBQ on the Friday afternoon.

Carson Pue, President of Arrow Leadership Canada which has mentored and trained over 1200 leaders in Canada and with whom Carson has served for 10 years was the theme speaker.

Laura Nelson and Ian Grant, our interim Regional Ministers helped so very much in the day to day community time as did Shelby Gregg, my administrative associate.

Workshop sessions were led by:

  • David Holten
  • Paul Pearce
  • Nadia VanderKuip
  • Benny Jones
  • Carson Pue

The following servants of our common Lord passed away in the last two years:

  • Rev. Jack Reggin (FBC Nanaimo)
  • Rev. Jacob Rabuka (FBC Penticton)
  • Dr. Joy Gregory (Joy Fellowship)
  • Rev. Don McLeod (FBC Prince George)
  • Rev. Everett Ball (FBC Penticton)

The following pastors retired this last year:

  • Dr. Benny Jones (White Rock Baptist)
  • Max DeBeeson (Peachland Baptist)


The following new pastors were welcomed:

Craig Young (Hillside Baptist, North Vancouver)

Paul Stade (FBC Kitimat)

Janet McPhee (Emmaus Road/Union Gospel, Vancouver)

Jamie Kuhn (FBC Nanaimo)

Ryan Johnston (Elk Lake, Victoria)

Tim Coleman (FBC Kitimat)

Larry Schram (Summerland Baptist)

Allan Tam (Grace Community, Vancouver)

Mark Rajan (Grace Community, Vancouver)

Bruce Curtiss (Union Gospel/Burnaby North)

Charis Weathers (Hillside Baptist, N. Vancouver)

Donna Dinsmore (White Rock Baptist)

LaVonne Dougall (West Vancouver Baptist)

Jane Megale (West Vancouver Baptist)

Shane Woodlief (New Life, Duncan)

Emmanuel Ndabarushimana (Grandview, Vancouver)

Marianne Buerger (FBC, Vancouver)

Lloyd Thomas (Bethel First, Prince Rupert)

Bill Cottrill (FBC Port Alberni)

Shaun Jessop (Gateway Baptist, Victoria)

Doug McLellan (White Rock Baptist)

Clarke Scheibe (Grandview, Vancouver/L’Abri)

Van Lal Siama (Vancouver Chin Baptist)

Jason Horn (New Life, Duncan)

Matt Kitchener (West Point Grey, Vancouver)

Tyler Crawford (White Rock Baptist)

Bill Hall (Comox Community)

Leslie Hamm (Peachland Baptist)

Rob Filgate (New Life, Duncan)


The Chin congregation were welcomed to our community.

Gary Nelson (Canadian Baptist Ministries) and Gordon King (The Sharing Way, CBM) spoke to us and were welcomed as the kin and family that they are. They sponsored a Saturday morning breakfast and Brian Stelck from Carey Theological College drew us into the exciting new developments at Carey in the MDiv, continuing education and long distance learning, as well as reflecting on the last 50 years in Carey history.



In Christ,

Jeremy Bell